List of 30 Radio Stations to be shut down by UCC over Failure to Renew License

The Uganda Communications Commission (The Commission) was established under section 4 of the Uganda Communications Act, 2013 (The Act) as the regulator in the development of a modern communications sector that includes telecommunications, broadcasting, radio communications, postal communications, data communication and infrastructure.

In exercise of its mandate, the Commission revised the licensing framework for the radio broadcasting sectors in Uganda and on the 2nd of June 2020, all existing radio broadcasters were advised to apply for new broadcasting licenses under the new framework by the 31st of July 2020.

According to Clause 4.3(a) of the Uganda Communication Communications Spectrum Management Guidelines 2017 and the frequency assignment letters issued to all radio broadcasters, it is clearly stipulated that spectrum assignment lapses immediately the assigned party ceases to hold a valid broadcasting license issued by the Commission.

The broadcasting licenses for the underlisted radio broadcasters expired on 30th June 2020 and despite several reminders, including the public notice issued on 31st December 2020, they have to date not submitted their applications for licenses in accordance with the Uganda Communications Act 2013.


1 Abundant Hope Media Services Hope FM 102.6 Kabale

2 Access Broadcasting Services AA City Radio 96.3 Arua

3 Amuria Rural Development Agency Saviour FM 104.2 Amuria

4 Biiso FM Limited Biiso FM 97.8 Buliisa

5 Busoga Inter District BIDADO Marantha FM 104.7 Jinja

6 Crane Broadcasting Limited Crane FM 87.6 Bushenyi

7 CUE Investments Limited Q FM 94.3 Lira

8 East Africa FM Limited East Africa Radio 99.0 Kampala

9 Estalup Enterprises Limited Radio North 89.0 Lira

10 Gulu FM Gulu FM 102.7 Gulu

11 Kamuli Broadcasting Services Enduhba FM 105.9 Kamuli

12 Kinkizi FM Limited Radio Kinkizi 88.0 Kinkizi

13 Kitti FM Kitty Fm 99.2 Kitgum

14 Kwania FM Limited Kwania FM 101.1 Apac

15 Kyegegwa District Kyegegwa Community Radio 107.9 Kyegegwa

16 Lisavin Suppliers Limited Kanungu FM 101.3 Kanungu

17 Masindi Broadcasting Services Radio Kitara 96.9 Masindi

18 Mbabule FM Limited Mbabule FM 101.1 Sembabule

19 Mega Max Global (U) Limited Village Club California 103.6 Kiryandongo

20 Nawajjo Enterprises Elgon FM 101.4 Mbale

21 Norah Media Group Choice FM 92.1 Gulu

22 Radio Kaaro Limited Radio Kaaro 103.8 Kiruhura

23 Radio Revival Limited Radio Revival 93.2 Mbarara

24 Radio Veros Limited Radio Veros 90.2 Tororo

25 Sauti Media Services Limited Sauti FM 105.5 Kayunga

26 Tembo FM (U) Limited Tembo FM 103.5 Kitgum

27 TimCom Limited Radio Ssese 101.9 Kalangala

28 Uganda Australian Foundation Palwak Radio 88.3 Pader

29 Unique FM Radio Limited Unique FM 96.7 Kyenjojo

30 V and B Communications Limited Challenge FM 91.9 Paliisa

The above-listed radio stations are accordingly reminded that unless they regularize their operations by clearing all outstanding compliance issues and submit complete applications for their respective radio frequencies by Wednesday the 14th of April 2021, their respective radio spectrum assignments shall automatically lapse and they shall be required to stop broadcasting.

The proprietors of the subject radio stations are further reminded that in accordance with sections 26 and 27 of the Uganda Communications Act 2013, any person who provides broadcasting services in Uganda without a license issued by the Commission commits an offence and is liable on conviction to a fine or imprisonment or both.

Should you require any clarification on this matter, please do not hesitate to contact the Commission.

Dated this 30th Day of March 2021


Plot 42- 44 Spring Road, Bugolobi

P. O. Box 7376, KAMPALA

Phone: + 256 414 339000, +256 312 339000

Email:, Website:

Join us on Telegram to receive our new updates


Related posts

Leave a Comment